PRIMUS explores the the sculptural dimension of bodily movement and the performative dimension of sculptural elements





PRIMUS is the first work of a new trilogy entitled BIG BANG, centered around the concept of creation.

PRIMUS is a conceptual work with a duration of 53 minutes. 

The work premiered at Godsbanen in Aarhus, September 2020 and was presented at K: Selekt at The Royal Danish Theater in Copenhagen, September 2020. PRIMUS is selected for CPH STAGEs International Days 2021 and will play live on 4th of June 2021 at Dansekapellet in Copenhagen, Denmark.


PRIMUS is a duet between two women of different ages – one covered and one naked – a choreographer and a performer. In this work the audience encounter a vast array of experimental shapes, where the tactile, the light and the imagination play a vital role. PRIMUS takes place in the intersection between the sculptural in contemporary art and the performative and the sensory in performing arts.

PRIMUS is performed by performer Sisse Lunøe and choreographer Nønne Mai Svalholm.

In collaboration with visual artist Signe Klejs, we have created a lighting design which consists of the light from the morning's sunrise in a constantly changing light design, which transforms the stage into fluctuating colour combinations. 

Part of PRIMUS was developed during a residency at ARoS Aarhus Art Museum, Denmark in October, 2019 and a residency at Turnéteatret in Trondelag, Norway in November 2019.


The Artistic Team: Artistic Director/ Choreographer: Nønne Mai Svalholm, Dancers: Sisse Lunøe and Nønne Mai Svalholm, Scenography and light design: Visual Artist Signe Klejs and Nønne Mai Svalholm, Composer: Olga Szymula, Artistic concultant Niels Rønsholdt, Dramaturge and Creative Producer: Carlos Calvo, Dramaturge Assistant: Ida-Elisabeth Larsen, Sconography and light design: Visual Artist Signe Klejs and Nønne Mai Svalholm, light design consultant: Jon Skulberg, Filmmaker and Photography: Michael Dinesen, Photographer: Peter Ravnsborg. This picture was taken at ARoS Aarhus Art Museum.


Curated and co-produced by Åbne Scene, Godsbanen, Denmark.

With support from The Danish Arts Foundation, Kulturudviklingspuljen, Aarhus Kommune, Wilhelm Demant Fonden, Initiativpuljen, Aarhus Kommune and Arts Concil Norway.