BIG BANG - Collective Matter





BIG BANG - Collective Matter is a visual, sensuous and scenic work. The audience is introduced to choreographic works, sculpture and dance - an artistic examination of the theme: transitions, transformation and change - thresholds we are crossing; and rite we pass through. 


Artistic Director and Choreographer Nønne Mai Svalholm invited Danish multi-artist and designer Henrik Vibskov to jointly create large inflatable installations and wodden sculptures shaped af portals for BIG BANG - Collective Matter. Svalholm also invited the choreographers Marie-Louise Stentebjerg, Ida Elisabeth Larsen from two-women-machine-show and Snorre Elvin Hansen from DANSEatelier, who inspire her in different ways to co-create with her on BIG BANG - Collective Matter. 


BIG BANG - Collective Matter is the second choreographic work in the BIG BANG trilogy, where PRIMUS (2020) was the first choreographic work.


Nønne Mai Svalholm works conceptually and cross-artistically with choreography, dance, lighting design and sculpture. The artistic vision is to address existential questions and challenge the choreographic thinking. 


BIG BANG - Collective Matter were produced by SVALHOLM and co-produced by Åbne Scene Godsbanen and Aarhus Teater i collaboration with Aarhus Festuge.


Venue: Aarhus Centrum starting inside Aarhus Teater


Duration: 2 hours with a break along the way

The use of mobile phones is allowed, but we encourage you to take into account the performers and the rest of the audience

Age limit: 12 years


Artistic Director & idea and concept: Nønne Mai Svalholm

Sculpture, installation and costumes: Nønne Mai Svalholm and Henrik Vibskov 

Choreographers: Marie-Louise Stentebjerg, Ida Elisabeth Larsen from two-women-machine-show, Snorre Elvin Hansen from DANSEatelier and Nønne Mai Svalholm from SVALHOLM

Performers: Marie-Louise Stentebjerg, Ida Elisabeth Larsen, Snorre Elvin Hansen, Klara Utke Acs, Simone Wierød, Sarah Armstrong and SVALHOLM's 60+ performers 

Graphic design: Sam Moore 


With support from The Danish Arts Foundation, Augustinus Fonden and Knud Højgaards Fond